Formation of the JHF

The formation of the Jamaica Hockey Federation (JHF) on January 31, 1998 united the Jamaica Men’s Hockey Association and the Jamaica Women’s Hockey Association.

The JHF is a member of the international governing body of hockey, the Federation International de Hockey (FIH), the regional body, the Pan American Hockey Federation (PAHF), and locally, the Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA).

JHF headquarters in Mona maintains an international-standard, all-weather artificial playing field at which the highest level of play occurs.

The facility also allows the JHF to host major international competitions. The FIH and PAHF have already identified Jamaica as an ideal geographic location for this.

The Jamaica National team participates in the sport at the Caribbean and Pan American levels. Additionally, the sport is played at the local level between the following 10 clubs:

  • Raiders United,
  • Munro College Old Boys,
  • Sharpe’s Rebels,
  • St. Andrew Hockey Club,
  • Tropics Hockey Club,
  • Circus Circle,
  • the Jamaica Defense Force Hockey Club,
  • Excelsior,
  • Explorers Hockey Club
  • AES Hockey Club

Hockey at the high school level is played among the following schools:


  • Jamaica College
  • Kingston College
  • Munro College
  • Wolmer’s


  • Alpha
  • Queens
  • St. Hugh’s
  • St. Andrew’s
  • Immaculate Conception
  • Wolmer’s
  • Merl Grove


  • Campion College
  • Tivoli Gardens
  • Papine High
  • Mona High
  • St. Andrew Technical
  • Excelsior High
  • Denbigh High
  • Clan Carthy High
  • York Castle High

Field Hockey is also played these tertiary institutions:

  • University of the West Indies (UWI)
  • University of Technology (UTech)
  • G. C. Foster College
  • Caribbean Maritime University


For more information about the Jamaica Hockey federation please see the links below: