JHF names squad for CAC Qualifiers next month

THE Jamaica Hockey Federation (JHF) has named 36 players for both the men’s and women’s national nquads for the Central America and Caribbean (CAC) Games Field Hockey Qualifiers to be held from November 5–12 at the Jamaica National (JN) Hockey Field at Mona in Kingston.

Both teams will be vying for places at the CAC Games to be held in Barranquilla, Colombia, in August of next year. The finalists from both the men’s and women’s competitions will qualify for the CAC Games.

The men’s and women’s squads will consists of 18 players each and are currently in preparation at the JN Hockey Field at Mona.

Four players will be representing Jamaica for the first time in the men’s squad — the Raiders United pair of Shiaeine Blake and Rahsaan Smith; while the other two debutants are coming from the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) team: Onique Salmon and Kemar Gobern.

The other members of the men’s squad are Nicholas Beech, Charles Burton, Brandon Clarke, Kardiff Davidson, Phillip Dawson, Andre Gardener, Giovanne Green, Oshane Haseley, Duvaughn Henlon, Xavier Hendricks, Jonte’ Johnson, George McGlashen, Kemar Mitchell, and Kishawn White.

Nicholas Brown is the head coach of the men’s team with O’Dien Williams as assistant coach and Ricardo Panton as manager.

Meanwhile, three debutants are included in the women’s squad — 16-years-old Mona High School student, Imauny Linton, Jonel Witter and Antonette Baxter.

The remaining members of the squad are Chakira Airey, Shareeka Elliott, Kameisha Erskine, Ombretta Gordon, Sauwana Gordon, Kamille Griffiths, Krystal, Holgate, Kareme Hudson, Trudy-Ann Knight, Lori-Ann McIntosh, Ebony McLean, Demi Nichlson, Pikeshia Powell, Dionne Smallhorne and Shana-Kay Tullonge.

Christine Bartley is the head coach of the women’s team with Carla Hewitt as assistant coach and Michelle Thompson as the manager.

Five male teams will be participating, including hosts Jamaica, which are: Guatemala, Guyana, Panama and Puerto Rico. The six participating teams in the women’s section, other than Jamaica, are Guatemala, Bermuda, Guyana Puerto Rico, and Panama.

  • The Jamaica Observer –

Leave a Reply